Basic Rules of Doubles
Best Shot Format
ALL PDGA RULES OF COMPETITIVE PLAY APPLY
On the tee:
Partners each may throw a tee shot.
- One partner does have the option of forfeiting their turn, but should announce those intentions to the group in such an instance. (example: first drive is beyond partner’s capabilities to match or better)
- In the event of an ace (hole in one) by the first thrower, his/her partner may not throw. A throw in such a case is penalizable as a “practice throw” (see “On the Green” section below regarding holing out).
In the fairway:
Partners choose the “best” drive between their two and both players throw their next shot from that lie. This process is repeated on every shot made by the team until holed out.
- A lie from which the disc is picked up with no mark is forfeited. Be sure to locate and ascertain both discs’ status (in-bounds/out-of-bounds, etc) before picking up one or the other.
- Normal marking and stance rules apply: leave the thrown disc on the ground as is, or mark with a mini marker disc.
- However the lie is marked, it must remain that way for both partners (example: if Player A leaves the thrown disc on the ground as a mark, Player B cannot use a mini or move the disc on the ground)
- Piece of advice: the “longest” shot is not always the “best” shot. Be sure to evaluate both lies before choosing.
On the Green:
To be holed out, a player, from a legal stance, must release the disc so that it comes to rest supported by the basket or chains
- Slapping chains or tapping the basket DOES NOT COUNT AS HOLING OUT.
- There are no “gimmes” in tournament play. Every hole must be completed through a legal hole out. (see PDGA rule 802.05)
Once one partner holes out, the hole is complete for the team
- If the first partner holes out, the second partner does not throw.
- If the second partner holes out after the first misses, the first player’s disc is to be picked up and not played.
- Any such throws made subsequent to the team having holed out can be penalized as “practice throws” (see PDGA rule 801.06…one penalty stroke for each throw)
Score on the next tee, not on the green.
- All players should move off the green and to the next tee before scores are taken for a hole.
- Scoring should be done according to PDGA rules (805.02). The number of throws taken is what is recorded on the scorecard. Each individual hole score, as well as total score, must be recorded as a numeral representing the total number of strokes taken (i.e. scoring a 3 on a hole should be recorded as “3”, shooting a 62 total should be recorded as a “62”). Par is irrelevant when scoring (no need for -1 or +2 to appear). Turning in an incorrectly scored scorecard is an automatic 2-stroke penalty, as is turning in a mis-added or un-totaled scorecard (2 strokes added to correct score)
Penalty strokes apply only if penalized shot is used for a team’s score
(i.e. if a shot is thrown OB but the lie is not taken, no OB penalty is applied to the team’s score)